Shrimp Scampi

After drooling over a recipe found on saveur.com, I decided to take the plunge with shrimp in this shrimp scampi recipe. As a chef nouveau, I have limited experience working with seafood. I love to eat it but I hate touching it… something about handling fish scales and deveining raw shrimp gives me the shudders. But maybe it was all those Red Lobster commercials flashing their all-you-can-eat shrimp specials on TV or purely my hunger for a simple pasta dinner that led me to come home with 1 Ib of fresh raw shrimp today. (I almost made the rookie Keith mistake from Top Chef Texas by going for the cooked shrimp…!) Half an hour later I had a simple lemony and buttery capellini dish with juicy shrimp ready to be devoured!

Disclaimer: this is not my shrimp scampi. In my state of hunger and euphoria I inhaled my dish before taking a photo. 😦

I made the mistake of reducing the wine-butter-lemon sauce a little too quickly while cooking my shallots. The result was a slightly dry pasta dish for my liking (I’m a heavy on the sauce kind of gal). Next time I will definitely let it reduce on a simmer and not on medium heat. And add another pound of shrimp… you can’t get enough of juicy tender buttery shrimp!

Ingredients

  • 5 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 Ib. medium shrimp, peeled, deveined, tails attached
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 tsp. crushed red chili flakes
  • 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 shallots, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (I used about 1/3)
  • 1 tsp. lemon zest
  • 1 Ib. thin spaghetti (I used capellini)
  • 1/4 cup roughly chopped parsley (I had the parsley chopped and then forgot to add it to my dish!)
Instructions
  1. Heat 3 tbsp. butter and oil in a medium skillet over medium-high heat
  2. Season shrimp with salt and pepper and add to skillet. Cook, turning once, until beginning to turn pink, about 3 minutes. Set it aside on a plate.
  3. Add chili flakes, garlic, and shallots to skillet; cook until soft, about 3 minutes.
  4. Add wine, juice, and zest; cook until reduced by half, about 5 minutes. (Turn the heat on medium-low at this point)
  5. Add pasta, reserved shrimp, and remaining butter; toss until evenly combined.
  6. Transfer to a serving platter and sprinkle with parsley.

Enjoy!

One comment

Leave a Reply

