Smothered Pork Chops with Gravy

I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect pork chop recipe for a while. I have a great pork schnitzel recipe I turn to when I want some crunch but I had yet to find the perfect pork chop that was the combination of flavorful, juicy and tender. Until I found this recipe that is. I remember watching Tyler Florence on Food Network before food network, top chef and cooking shows became a huge entertainment staple on TV. I learned how to roast garlic in an oven by watching his show. I decided to try his Smothered Pork Chop recipe mainly because the title “smothered” really caught my eye. Smothered means lots of sauce and I love sauce!

smothered pork chop with my favorite glass of moscato

I must say, this was one of the best gravy I have made in my life. It was perfectly seasoned and creamy yet not too heavy. It didn’t take away from the pork chop flavor. I foresee using this gravy recipe for all my gravy needs. The pork was tender and juicy and perfect. One of my pork chops however was a little pink near the bone. I blame it on my uneven saute pan.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp. onion powder
  • 2 tbsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. cayenne
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 pork chops, 3/4 inch thick, bone in
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 cup chicken broth (I only had beef broth so used that instead)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley, for garnish

Instructions

  1. Put the flour in a shallow platter and add the onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne, salt and pepper. Mix to distribute evenly.
  2. Pat the pork chops dry the paper towels to remove all water and dredge them in the seasoned flour, shaking off the excess.
  3. Heat a large saute pan over medium heat and coat with oil. When hot, lay the pork chops in the pan in a single layer and fry for 3 minutes on each side until golden brown.
  4. Remove pork chops from the pan and set aside.
  5. Add a handful of seasoned flour to the drippings to make gravy. Add the broth and let it simmer for about 5 minutes until the sauce thickens slightly. Stir in the buttermilk to make the sauce creamy.
  6. Return the pork chops to the pan and cover them with the sauce. Simmer for 5 minutes until cooked through.
  7. Season with salt, pepper and garnish with parsley before serving.

Enjoy!

One comment

Leave a Reply

