Tuna Casserole with Cheese and Breadcrumbs

I can’t deny my love for all things baked. Cookies! Muffins! Cake! And casserole! Something about that extra crispy crunchy layer of cheese or breadcrumbs really tops off the dish in the perfect way and adds texture to an otherwise monotone dish. During my college days, my dining hall would serve tuna casserole on Thursdays and the line was always out the door. I would go get dinner at 4:30 p.m. when the dining hall opened just so that I could eat tuna casserole. It was a very simple dish – pasta, tuna, breadcrumbs – but to me it was perfect. Years later, I remembered how much I loved that casserole and tried to recreate it at home.

tuna casserole - look at that golden crust

I didn’t follow a recipe because I felt like being adventurous. To be fun, I added bothย breadcrumbs and cheese. I didn’t want to skimp out on the best part of the casserole! Also, I usually make my own roux (equal parts butter & flour and add stock) but for this dish I used a can of mushroom soup. This is a really simple and easy dish and reminded me of the good old days of college ๐Ÿ™‚

Ingredients

  • 1 Ib. egg noodles
  • Frozen peas, carrots, corn
  • 2 cans condensed mushroom soup
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cans of tuna in water
  • Generous amounts of cheddar cheese (1-2 cups depending on your taste)
  • Panko breadcrumbs (about 1 cup)
  • Salt and Pepper

Instructions

  1. Turn the oven to 375 F.
  2. Cook the egg noodles al dente according to directions given on box.
  3. Heat the condensed mushroom soup with milk and let it simmer, stirring constantly.
  4. Add the tuna and frozen vegetables. Season with salt and pepper.
  5. Mix in the egg noodles with the sauce and place it in casserole dish.
  6. Top off with generous portions of cheese.
  7. Top off with breadcrumbs. (You can mix the breadcrumbs with a spoonful of butter first before placing it on the casserole dish)
  8. Heat it in the oven until cheese starts bubbling, about 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

One comment

Leave a Reply

