Lemon Bundt Cake with Glaze

Before I tried my hand at cooking, I was really into baking. My very first recipe book I was gifted as a child was the ABC baking book. For every alphabet there was a recipe for a baked good. I would always bake “C” chocolate chip cookies 🙂 I wouldn’t say I am an avid baker but I would bake enough cookies and banana bread every year and feed my friends enough times for them to remember me as the girl who likes to bake. I have yet to venture out of my safety zone (I’ve always wanted to try baking a souffle or a pie) but recently I have tried baking things other than the usual cookie or muffin. Last week at target, I had the urge to buy a bundt cake pan. It was lime green on the outside and looked too cute to pass! And that’s how I ended up with a lemon bundt cake with lemon glaze.

Lemon Bundt Cake - right out of the oven

I’ve never baked a bundt cake before and I wasn’t sure how it would taste either – is it supposed to be more like a cake or a chiffon cake or an angel cake? I don’t know. I just followed a recipe I found online and it turned out well. I knew I wanted something not too sweet so I went for lemon. The cake was soft and buttery. I also poked holes all over the cake before I drizzled the glaze because I remembered from somewhere that this would help make the cake moist.

If I were to change something about this recipe it would be the glaze. The glaze left sugar crystals on the cake but I would’ve liked it to be more like icing. Next time, I would melt the ingredients in a pot over medium low heat so that the glaze has the same consistency throughout.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter softened
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp. lemon extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon peel
GLAZE:
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp. water
  • 1/2 tsp. lemon extract
  • 3/4 cup sugar

Instructions

  1. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar.
  2. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  3. Beat in extracts.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, salt.
  5. Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, alternating with milk. Stir well!
  6. Stir in lemon peel.
  7. Pour into a greased and floured 10-in. fluted tube pan.
  8. Bake at 350 F for 60-70 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.
  9. Cool for 10 minutes and then place on a wire rack. Cool 10 minutes longer. Mix the glaze ingredients. Drizzle the glaze over the warm cake.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

