Japanese Beef Curry with Potatoes

I had some beef, potatoes and onions so I decided to make Japanese style curry.  I’ve never learned how to make curry from scratch so I cheated and used curry in a box.  In my opinion, this is the best curry from a box – “Golden Curry”.  It’s a Japanese style curry which is more sweeter and less spicier than Indian style curry.

The curry comes in the form of condensed blocks that melt in water and turns into a sauce.  I like adding potatoes, beef, onions and carrots in my curry (I didn’t have carrots this time).  I usually eat my curry with white rice because I like the stickiness of white rice as opposed to basmati rice.

Ingredient

  • 1 package of stew cut beef (1 1/2 – 2 pounds) – I used leftover turkey meat as well
  • 5 clean potatoes – cubed
  • 1 whole sweet onion – diced
  • salt and pepper to season
  • 1 tsp. of mashed garlic
  • 6 cups of water

Instructions

1. Prepare the vegetables – dice the onions, clean, peel and cube the potatoes and set aside

2. Cut the beef into bite-size chunks and cook over medium high heat. Season with salt and pepper.

3. On another pan, cook the potatoes and onions for about 5 mins but no need to cook them all the way. Season with salt and pepper and garlic.

3. Put the beef, onions, and potatoes into a big pot.  Pour the water in and bring to a boil.

4. Turn down the heat to medium-high. Open the curry package and add the curry into the pot, stirring constantly until the curry is becomes a thick sauce.

5. Simmer the sauce for 10 mins until the curry is a smooth consistency. Stir constantly.

6. Serve over rice. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

