Layered Vanilla Butter Cake with Chocolate Frosting

I’ve always wanted to bake a layered cake with frosting. I am still in the process of acquiring all my baking tools (I still don’t have the kitchen aid – I just bought an electric hand beater for the meantime). The other day I went to Target and bought a cake pan with the intent to finally bake my cake. I decided to start off with an easy recipe – yellow vanilla butter cake with chocolate frosting. I tried looking for confetti but couldn’t find it so gave up on the decoration. There’s always next time!

As you can see, I don’t have a cake stand (yet) so I got creative and made my cake in this roasting pan.

Ingredients:

For the Cake:
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 cup cake flour
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups of sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups of milk
  • a dash of salt
For the frosting:
  • 24 ounces semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup dutch process cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 3 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • a dash of salt

Instructions:

For the cake:

Preheat the oven to 350 F and butter the cake pans. I only had 1 cake pan so had to do this process twice.

In a big plastic bowl, sift together flour, baking powder and salt.

In another big plastic bowl, cream together sugar and butter with an electric hand mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one by one and add the vanilla at the end.

Into this mixture, mix in the flour mixture, alternating with the milk. With a wooden paddle, scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Divide the batter into 2 pans and smooth out the top of the batter with a wooden paddle.

Bake in the oven for 25-30 mins until the toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Pop the cake out of the pan by turning it upside down. Place the cake on a wire rack to cool. I placed the rack on top of the cake and flipped the pan upside down right onto the rack. I was tempted to just take a slice of the vanilla butter cake at this point. :p

Oops my cakes have wire markings on them. This turned out in my favor because it flattened the cake evenly so I didn’t have to trim the tops. πŸ™‚

For the frosting:

Place the chocolate in a microwave safe bowl and heat for 1 minute at a time, total about 3 -4 mins, stirring the chocolate in between. Make sure the chocolate is all melted.

Combine cocoa powder with boiling water and stir until it looks like this.

In a big plastic bowl, cream together butter, confectioner’s sugar and salt with an electric mixer on medium speed.

Into this mixture add the melted chocolate and the cocoa mixture. Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a wooden paddle.

Cover the frosting with plastic wrap and cool in the fridge for 15-20 mins until frosting thickens.

Place the bottom layer of the cake onto a cake display stand (or in my case, roasting pan) and spread the frosting liberally with a wooden spatula. Place the second layer of the cake and frost with remaining frosting, making sure you leave enough for the sides of the cake.

And voila!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

