Caprese Salad

On a hot day all you want is something simple, clean, and light.  Nothing heavy on butter, nothing greasy, and definitely nothing hot. After a workout I felt like being good and continuing on with my healthy streak so I made caprese salad. There is not much cooking involved so it’s easy peasy. The key is to get good mozzarella – in this case burrata. I found Bel Gioioso’s Burrata (fresh mozzarella cheese filled with shreds of mozzarella soaked in cream) at the grocery store and can’t get enough of the creamy mozzarella in the center.  The package contains 2 burrata’s which is plenty for a plateful of caprese salad if you slice it up.

I used 4 roma tomatoes, 1 package of basil leaves and 2 burratas. I sprinkled a little bit of sea salt on the tomato slices to add flavor but to also keep the tomatoes firm.

I drizzled a little bit of olive oil mixed with balsamic vinaigrette.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

