Homemade Sushi

For the past few weeks, every time I have tried to eat at my favorite sushi restaurant, I’ve been out of luck. A few weeks ago after several rejections in the form of too long of a wait & restaurant closed for lunch (this happened twice), I decided to venture out again for my favorite hand rolls but caught the sushi chef closing early. Why?? He said the weather was too hot for fish. Well… I suppose 100 degree weather can be bad for fresh fish.

So I decided to bite the bullet and make my own sushi at home. The preparation is a little overwhelming and takes a lot of time but once you get the hang of rolling out your own sushi, it’s pretty rewarding.

As usual, I always forget to (read: lazy) take pictures of ingredients and the process of cooking because I’m too engrossed in the moment. But here’s the final product before it was gobbled up by yours truly.

Image

Ain’t it pretty? Almost looks professional πŸ™‚ This is a smoked salmon roll with avocado, boston lettuce, cucumber, roe, and lime wasabi mayo that I just whipped up. The smoked salmon is from Alaska (but found at your local Costco). The key is to roll the sushi roll really tight on the bamboo roller or else it will break apart when you cut them into bite-able pieces. Also, don’t be greedy like me and try to stuff too much in your sushi…

How to make Lime Wasabi Mayo

Take 2 tablespoons of wasabi paste and mix with 4 tablespoons of mayo. Adjust the taste – if you want it more spicy add more wasabi. Squeeze one quarter lime. This will last you 3 sushi rolls.

Enjoy!

One comment

Leave a Reply

